Fire Emblem if/Fates: 4Koma KINGS Page 30 Translation

The latest of my daily scan/clean/translation of  Fire Emblem if (Fates): 4Koma Kings (ファイアーエムブレムif 4コマKINGS).

This is an individual post for Page 30. The compilation post that features all pages thus far is here! This is the last of the colored pages.

I do not post the raw scans here, but you may email if you want them to compare translations! I do at least one page per day.

All scanning, editing, translating, and uploading is done on my free time and is rather time consuming. It is certainly a lot of work… so please consider donating if you like the work I do. Any amount (no matter how small) is much appreciated and helps me keep going on a daily basis. I hope you enjoy the end results of my work!

030translate1

7 thoughts on “Fire Emblem if/Fates: 4Koma KINGS Page 30 Translation

  1. There’s another translation of this page floating around on tumblr and I noticed that between yours and the other, there’s a slight difference regarding the second to last bubble about cloaks. While the other version has a 3rd party (probably Ryouma and Takumi) talk about Corrin having a cloak, yours has Corrin as the speaker. I figure this is probably due to Japanese not having specific subject-verb references unlike English.

    • Yep, it’s a complex thing to convey due to the vague reference (and sometimes odd bubble placement). I believe theirs is probably more accurate in this case, and likely an oversight on mine. : ) To make sense of it, it became a joke about his hair. xD

      Hmm. Which do you like better? I guess I’ll change it up to better reflect that. Indeed, an issue of vague pronouns. Also, out of curiosity, is said other translation just on that page or have they done the whole book already? : )

    • Ah, looking at it again, I think it’s because of the usage of “elder brother” in there, which makes sense if Takumi says it, but not Ryoma. I was Corrin said it since he was the only one speaking/Ryoma was the last one to be seen before that panel. xD

      Will fix it up! Thanks for pointing it out. Sorry for the inconvenience.

      • It’s no inconvenience at all! I prefer your translations over the other ones floating around on the internet. You put a lot of effort into keeping the meaning along with the intentions while the others tend to stick with more literal translations.

        As for the other translation, I ran through their tumblr but it looked like they only translated the pages they really liked (about 5-8 pages) and have no intention of doing the entire book.

        • Thanks, it really, really means a lot to hear that. I do put a lot of time and effort into these in hopes of going professional some day. : ) But, more importantly, for the enjoyment of the fanbase.

          I fixed up the error anyway as it was bugging me, so I really do thank you for pointing it out. If you spot errors or potential errors in the future, please continue to let me know. I really appreciate it. : )

Thoughts? Comments? Requests? Leave a comment!

