FE RD: Senri Kita Comments + Book Cover Illustrations (248-249) Translations

This post is part of my ongoing translations of the Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn Memorial Book: Tellius Recollection (Vol 2). 

This post features the cover art for Tellius Recollection Vol 2. There is also some comments from Senri Kita listed.

You can find every translation I’ve done on this book so far on the compilation post here!

As you can imagine, the process of doing all this (scanning, editing, translating, etc) takes a lot of time, and I am unemployed…so if you like what I did, then…

Please consider donating! It helps fund future projects!

Donate Button

Enjoy!

(Right click and “View Image” for full resolution)

Translated text:

Like for Volume 1, Senri Kita drew the cover illustrations for this book (Volume 2) as well. It features a main character of Radiant Dawn, Micaiah, and a more mature Ike three years on from Path of Radiance.

The Silver-Haired Maiden. Able to hear the voice of the goddess, she is destined to right Tellius’s wrongs.

[Cover Art: Micaiah & Yune]

Her appearance is that of a pretty young girl, but her expression is calm and composed to reflect her mature nature. I tried to also make her look cute… but also felt it was a slightly forlorn expression at the same time… I wonder if that shows? I imagined the sweet fragrance of small birds when drawing Yune.

I tried drawing her forward-facing, as I thought it fitting for a front cover. I’m sure there are pros and cons to it.

[Cover Art: Ike]

I seem to have unconsciously drawn the Radiant Dawn Ike with his back turned toward us. It was probably because the final image of him embarking on his journey passed through my mind. I also feel it fits because it gives the impression that they could be standing back-to-back, going well with the fact they are on the front and back covers of this book.

[Memories of Radiant Dawn‘s Development]

When designing enemy bosses, the first thing we actually do is present a rough sketch of just the face. We don’t know which characters will use which faces, but even then, I kept screaming in my head, “I want you to use this face only for this character…!” After that, we would assign colors and put them in some gutsy pose or another. General Septimus was adapted best!

[Path of Radiance Characters’ Maturing]

I think Ike is the one who surprised me the most –because I thought he would resemble something more like his “Lord” appearance in Path of Radiance. So i remember being shocked to see he took the more “Mercenary” appearance instead. The other characters also underwent some changes, which can be seen in the concept art stages [of this book]. They were a lot of fun to draw. Though, a little known fact, I actually enjoyed drawing all the senators the most. All those middle-aged and old male villains were just so much fun.

[Message to Fans]

The world depicted in this story is basically a goddess’s little playground.”

I remember back when I was contacted by the developers to work on Path of Radiance. They told me it was going to be a rather large project. I felt it was extremely unfortunate that it would be the sort of thing that I would have to disappear from the public eye to work on. There were so many things in Path of Radiance that were never addressed that we couldn’t mention and so remained unknown. I remember exactly how I felt: “Ahh…is this really all we can talk about? Such a waste, there is so much left to say!” Then, soon after, there was talk of a sequel. I remember being so pleased and thinking: “Alas! We’ll be able to talk about the rest of it now!”

Path of Radiance is the frame that is prepared for the painting that is Radiant Dawn. When combined, I feel they form a masterpiece. I hope you are able to gasp and smile as you discover new facts you may not have known before through this collection of documents.

The Radiant Hero. He will determine the fate and many wishes of those Tellius with his blade

Senri Kita [ENGINES]

Character Designer, Character Illustrator, in Fire Emblem: Path of Radiance and Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn

One thought on “FE RD: Senri Kita Comments + Book Cover Illustrations (248-249) Translations

  1. Pingback: Fire Emblem RD: Tellius Recollection Vol. 2 Scan/Translation Compilation Post | kantopia

Thoughts? Comments? Requests? Leave a comment!

