Pokemon: X/Y Battle Chateau – Is Arran a Hitman? [JPN vs ENG]

Today’s post is a small one, and covers a reader request:

“There’s a butler named Arran who refuses to reveal the name of the master who presumably set him up to harm you in some way! Was his Japanese dialogue more clear on his intention? Like is he a hitman or something? lol”

I remember that guy! I always thought he was out to assassinate the trainer too, which was a silly (and dark) thought at the time. Of course it’s quite possible he was also just there to beat you in a Pokemon battle…

Either way let’s take a look!

Official Localization:

Arran: … … … It is my master’s orders. Please forgive me for what I am about to do…
Arran: The master’s orders are absolute, you see…
Arran: I shall not say… I shall never reveal… my master’s identity…
Arran: … … … I cannot reveal that, but… I quite like you. So, here…

Japanese + Literal Translation:

チトセ『…… …… これも 我が 主の 命…… 悪く 思わんで くれ……
チトセ『主の 命は 絶対なのだ……
チトセ『いえぬ…… 我が 主の 正体…… それは 決して いえぬのだ……
チトセ『…… …… 主には いえぬが…… ワシは そなたが 気に いった……

Chitose: This too is my master’s orders… please do not think badly of me…
Chitose: My master’s orders are absolute…
Chitose: I shall not say… my master’s identity… I will never reveal it…
Chitose: … Though I shall not speak of the master, I do like you…

 

As you can see the dialogue is largely the same. “Please do not think badly of me” and “please forgive me for what I am about to do” have the same meaning in the end (something bad is going to happen against his will and he asks for no ill-will), but they are different ways to go about saying it.

Both ways it really seems like the master ordered him to do something to you. Whether it is as innocent as a Pokemon battle or to off you entirely remains to be seen. Both ways the man is feeling guilty but emphasizing that his orders are absolute.

So to answer the question: The Japanese dialogue was the same as English, as it was translated very well. The implications are the same with no more or no less hints as to what they meant by what he was going to do. So, not really sure if he’s a “hitman” per se, more like a loyal servant sent on a mission. Regardless he feels quite bad about it!


That’s that!

I will continue to look at fun differences between the versions of sorts of games when I get time!

Any dialogue you’re interested in? Feel free to send in comments or via email!

Thoughts? Comments? Requests? Leave a comment!

